Creative, crazy, or a little of both?

insideoutThis was one of the most productive weeks I’ve had as a writer. Yippee skippy, right? It also led me to believe that I might be a little bit nuts. Those of you who know me are probably thinking, “what else is new?”.

As you know, I’ve been working on the second book in my Ozark Magic series, and I was having trouble. (See previous blog about my brilliant decision to set a book series in a lake community when I know nothing about boats.)

Anyway, I had another story in my head, so I decided to take a break from the folks of Magic, Missouri, and create some new characters who live in the town of Oakville.

I wrote this new short story/novella in two days, and plan to submit it to Evernight Publishing’s Romance on the Go line. This novella is set on Thanksgiving, and details the beginning of Ethan and Tori’s love story.

Now comes the crazy part. Once I create characters in my head, they start to live very active lives. I can’t just write one book and let the characters go. Nope, I can’t do it. So this story will be the first in a new series entitled Love with a Price.

Not only do I have a whole new set of characters burning a hole in my brain, but I have found that after a week of taking a break from my Ozark Magic series, I miss those characters. Like really miss them. I find myself wondering what they would be doing right now. Then I’m like, “Okay, freak, they’re not doing anything because they live inside your head.”

I fully picture an Inside Out situation with Izzy, Andi, Tessa, and Jillian. And now that I’ve added the cast of Oakville . . . well, let’s just say it’s getting very crowded in my head. On days when I don’t have time to write, I find myself incredibly distracted. When my husband notices I’m in my own little world, he’s started asking, “Are you in Magic right now?” Yes. Yes, I am.

So, does this mean I’m nuts? Creative? Most likely, I’m both. I think I’ll go with artistic and leave it at that. At least I know that when I’m old and senile, I’ll have plenty of voices inside my head to keep me company.

One thought on “Creative, crazy, or a little of both?

Leave a Reply

